Ayurveda: the science of Life



(Ayu=Life, Veda=Knowledge/Wisdom).

Ayurveda is an ancient holistic knowledge system of natural medicine.

According to Ayurveda, everything in the manifest universe is composed of five elements:

Space (or Ether), Air, Fire, Water, Earth.


These elements condense to the three doshas, creating the physical body, and exist within each individual in various degrees, producing our individual constitution.

Each dosha is a combination of two of the five elements:

Vata: Space, Air.

Pitta: Fire, Water.

Kapha: Water, Earth.

A dosha has its own attributes and qualities. Here are a few examples:

  • Vata is dry, erratic, mobile, cold, clear, light…
  • Pitta is sharp, intense, luminous, transformative, hot…
  • Kapha is slow, dense, heavy, calm, stable…

In the individual one or two doshas usually predominates and determines the ayurvedic constitution.

Ayurveda defines health as balance, therefore, when our main doshas falls into excess we are likely to experience ‘dis-ease’ on one or many level of our being (physical, emotional, mental, spiritual).

Embracing an appropriate diet and lifestyle, using certain herbs as well as purification and rejuvenation techniques (under the guidance of an experienced practitioner) works on restoring balance.


Knowing your Prakruti (your constitution at the time of conception) as well as your Vikruti (your current constitution at the state of imbalance) is helpful to move through life with more ease.

Experienced ayurvedic consultants will determine your constitution by taking your pulse but you can also get a tongue diagnosis or answer a questionnaire to find out about your doshas. (Contact me for more information).

Jeffrey Armstrong the three Doshas

The journey of Ayurveda